P1 AquaX

AquaX is the fastest growing personal watercraft championship in the world. Its rapid growth is owed to a simple, yet challenging race format that appeals to today’s personal watercraft users.

This year the program will include the unveiling of a professional level race series and expansion of two further championships in the Great Lakes region of the USA and in Southeast Asia.

Cookie Policy

This web site uses “temporary cookies” so that the site remembers what other items are in your “shopping basket”. In this situation a cookie is a small data file containing a single number (and no personal information) this cookie is never re-used. When you close your browser (Internet Explorer/Firefox/Safari etc), the cookie is destroyed.

We also use Google Analytics on our web sites to count traffic visiting the site. This cookie does not know or record any of your personal information, it merely records which pages are visited.This site uses cookies. Cookies are small data tokens that are used to pass information from page to page as you visit a web site.

Due to the new General Data Protection Regulation Law (GDPR) coming into effect in May 2018, we have changed the way we ask for your information.

This website contains several forms and checkout pages which gather your contact information. This is used for a variety of different purposes:

1) For payment and delivery of items purchased in the online shop.
2) For subscribing to our occasional newsletters.
3) For entering Powerboat P1 events as a racer.
4) For responding to queries via our contact forms.
5) For registering and paying for P1 Membership

For online sales of tickets and merchandise, this web site gathers/stores the minimum information from the customer which is required for a credit card transaction. We never see your credit card information as this is processed on the payment gateway (PayPal for Europe and SquareUp for US transactions). This information is only ever used for your purchase and is stored on our UK servers. It is not passed on to other parties. Apart from the newsletter sign up, all forms have a slider allowing you to also opt-in to our email newsletter which will allow us to send you occasional emails with news on upcoming race events and the occasional competition or special offer. You will not be contacted by us if you chose to opt-out or unsubscribe at any time by clicking on the link at the bottom of the newsletter.

Contact Info
  • Address: Queen Anne Mansions
    86/87 Wimpole Street
    London W1G 9RL
    United Kingdom
  • Phone: +44 (0) 20 7935 4977
  • Email: info@powerboatp1.com

Date: Thu 09 Nov 2017

Fort Lauderdale: What happened last time

The 2016 US series came to a celebratory end as Fort Lauderdale hosted the championship finale as Chris MacClugage secured the Pro Enduro title.

This year’s US championship arrives on the shores of Fort Lauderdale for the last meeting of the series as Florida’s southeastern city welcome AquaX for the second successive year.

Chris MacClugage was the leading rider last year as he took victory at a stop-start finale in Fort Lauderdale to clinch the 2016 P1 AquaX Pro Enduro title.

The Kawasaki rider won five of the last six races in the series to snatch the title from Aero Aswar who had led the 2016 championship since round two in Sarasota.

MacClugage recorded more wins than anyone on the tour but had suffered four DNFs throughout the first three rounds. However, a clean sweep in Lake Worth and two from three in Fort Lauderdale handed him the title with the P1 AquaX rules allowing all riders to drop their three lowest scores from the final championship standings.

Marine activity on course caused all three Pro Enduro races to take place on Sunday with race two having to be red flagged after just five laps. It also impacted on the AM International Cup which could only complete two of three races due to the multiple breaks in racing.

MacClugage was helped by the red flag in race two which handed him the win after his typically quick start put him in the lead before it was called short. This added to his victory in race one meaning that even a defeat to Eric Francis in race three was not enough to strip him of the weekend win and the overall championship.

Francis finished the season off in style, recording a second-place finish, whilst Aswar could only manage third as he saw his championship hopes go up in smoke.

In the Am International Cup it was Joe Harvey who emerged victorious, however, the weekend win went to Tommy Olswang who put a disappointing opening round in Lake Worth behind him to win both races in Fort Lauderdale. Harvey settled for second both times but ensured Chris Saxon, the championship leader heading into round two, stayed behind him to take the title.

Jason Lester and Jennifer Nolan once again completed a clean sweep to land the 250 and 200 class title. Franco Tobler secured his sixth straight race win to land the Pro Sprint weekend victory but it was Johnny Smith who took the championship title with a second place finish after racing in all three rounds.

The other weekend winners were Sam Nehme in the Sport class, Eric J Gabryel in the Spark class and Haden Skellett in the Junior Sprint class.